Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
7

Issue 48: Creating your own Personal Literary Canon

In which I introduce you to my #Literary Girlfriends™
7

A spontaneous newsletter because Friday was National Shelfie Day and I wanted to send some love to all who celebrate!

I made you a tour of my Literary Girlfriends™ bookshelf. In our house, we are so messy in how we organize our books because both Kyle and I read like savages BUT just recently I listened to an interview that Adam Ross did with

for The Sewanee Review podcast, and Adam asked about Garth's personal literary canon. I loved that question so much that I ran out and identified my very own Personal Literary Canon.

When I say “ran out”, I mean that quite literally. I ran around the house and collected all the books of my MOST favorite authors. I did so quickly as if the house was on fire because I wanted the shelf to be honest and authentic. These are authors whose work I have read, adored, been challenged by, nursed by.

These are writers who’ve inspired many author deep-dives for me, who’ve shown me kindness or pushed me to do my own work in a way that feels authentic to who I am, without second guessing myself.

Here's my list:

  • Nicole Krauss

  • Donna Tartt

  • Joan Didion

  • Zadie Smith

  • Rachel Cusk

  • Katie Kitamura

  • Ruta Sepetys

  • Melissa Bank

  • Meg Mason

  • Edna St. Vincent Millay

As I look over my list now, I know that it may appear quite unbalanced to some. Of course, this is not everything and everyone I read. This is just the shortest of short lists, I don’t even claim that this is the BEST WORK OUT THERE. Instead, I think of sharing my Personal Literary Canon as another way of cultivating self-trust. This is my own little journey into identifying what I truly love and appreciate and not feeling apologetic or defensive about it.

Who do YOU love? Who can’t YOU get enough of? 📚🤓🥰

7 Comments
A reading life
A reading life
Authors
Petya K. Grady